Home / Business / Nixon is new president

Nixon is new president

The Justices of the Peace Association of the Cayman Islands held its annual general meeting and elected a new president.

From left, Debra Humphreys, Paulette Conolly-Bailey, Christine Wright, Anthony Scott, Kerry Nixon, Irma Arch, Albert Anderson and Georgette Myrie. Missing: Jenny Manderso

The AGM was at the George Town Yacht Club on Feb. 4 and Kerry Nixon was elected.

Over 50 attended to see Mrs. Nixon take over from Albert Anderson who had been president since 2014. Mr. Anderson will continue to serve on the council in the role of immediate past president.

The vice president is Anthony Scott. Irma Arch and Georgette Myrie will continue their roles as secretary and treasurer respectively. The councillors are Jenny Manderson, Debra Humphreys, Paulette Conolly-Bailey and Christine Wright.

A dinner followed the AGM and the guest speaker was Hugh Perry of the Lay Magistrates Association of Jamaica who was invited to undertake this role. Mr. Perry delivered an empowering speech and encouraged Justices of the Peace in the Cayman Islands to continue to stay committed to their role in the community.

Check Also

Mentoring Cayman has first workshop

The 2017 Mentoring Cayman Class met for an inaugural educational workshop at the Cayman Islands …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *