90° F
Partly Cloudy
Partly Cloudy
Home / Sports / West Indies claim Test points

West Indies claim Test points

  • Ronsford Beaton has been drafted in for his fire power
  • Lendl Simmons played well in the Indian Premier League
  • Kieron Pollard is one of the world’s hardest hitting batsmen
  • Carlos Brathwaite captains the West Indies

By Ron Shillingford
[email protected]

West Indies have been a mediocre Test team for decades but at least under their new regime they have added five points to move to 75 in the International Cricket Council Test team rankings.

Although still in eighth place, director of cricket, Jimmy Adams said: “I’m happy that the effort of the squad in the recent Test series versus Pakistan has been recognised in the gaining of valuable ranking points.

“Our long-term aim is to strengthen, over time, all relevant aspects of our game and one yardstick to measure our success will be where we lie in the international rankings. Well done to the team on this achievement.”

India, South Africa, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka are the teams ahead of the West Indies.

The West Indies are preparing for the home series against Afghanistan, from May 30 to June 14. Those matches will be three Twenty20s and three one-day internationals. Then West Indies play five ODIs and one Twenty20 against India, from June 23 to July 9.

The India series will offer the West Indies an opportunity to gain automatic qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

The West Indies Cricket Board’s selection panel has named a 13-member squad for the upcoming series against Afghanistan.
The squad includes one uncapped player, Ronsford Beaton, the tall, 24-year-old Guyanese fast bowler. He has so far played 36 T20 matches, with 31 wickets including best figures of 4-9.

All-rounder Jason Holder is being rested for the series and Carlos Brathwaite is named captain. Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons and Marlon Samuels, senior batsman who rarely fail to score heavily against modest opposition, will be expected to get the bulk of the runs.

The Panel also announced the 12-man squad for the WICB President’s XI T20 match against the visitors. All matches will be played at Warner Park in St Kitts. Start time is 7:30 p.m. (6:30 p.m. in the Cayman Islands).

Courtney Browne, chairman of the selection panel, said: “After the T20 series against Pakistan we felt that it was important to keep the same group together so that the coaches can continue developing the young players. This coupled with the vast T20 experience of some of our senior players can help us to build a very formidable unit.”
On the inclusion of Beaton, Browne said: “Our head coach Stuart Law has asked for someone who can add some firepower to the attack. We felt that Ronsford has shown he can bowl with sustained pace in T20 cricket. We are confident he will do very well.”
Browne said that Holder requested a break and after discussion with his colleagues they granted him time off to refresh himself and prepare for the upcoming ODIs against Afghanistan and India.
Browne added: “In developing a high performance unit there is never room for complacency and our expectation is to win against a team that is ranked lower than us in the ICC rankings.”

Carlos Brathwaite (Captain)
Samuel Badree
Ronsford Beaton
Evin Lewis
Jason Mohammed
Sunil Narine
Kieron Pollard
Rovman Powell
Marlon Samuels
Lendl Simmons
Jerome Taylor
Chadwick Walton
Kesrick Williams
Ashley Nurse (Captain)
Jonathan Carter
Johnson Charles
Sheldon Cottrell
Miguel Cummins
Andre Fletcher
Delorn Johnson
Kyle Mayers
Veerasammy Permaul
Nicholas Pooran
Raymond Reifer
Devon Thomas

About Cayman Reporter

The Cayman Reporter is Cayman's leading free newspaper, published every Wednesday and Friday. Contact us at 946-6060, or email us at [email protected]

Check Also

Cayman Prep girls are CUC champs

Cayman Prep secured the first silverware of the 2017 primary football season this past Saturday …